extension of governmental activities made it obvious that the enforcement of Dominion statutes throughout Canada must be the responsibility of a Dominion Force and, therefore, the jurisdiction of the Royal North West Mounted Police was extended to the whole of Canada early in 1920. In that year, the name of the Force was changed to the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and the former Dominion Police with Headquarters at Ottawa, whose duties were largely connected with guarding public buildings in that city and the Canadian Government dockyards at Halifax, N.S., and Esquimalt, B.C., were absorbed by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

Control and Organization.—The force is controlled and administered by a Minister of the Crown (at present the Minister of Justice) and, as already intimated above, it may be employed anywhere in Canada.

From a total of 300 in 1873, the Force grew to over 4,700 by 1944 and has now a strength of approximately 3,000. Its means of transport consist of 144 horses, 839 motor-vehicles, 4 aeroplanes, 302 sleigh dogs, and 16 trained police dogs (for tracking). It is re-forming its Marine Section which before the War consisted of about 30 vessels of comparatively small size. A small Aviation Section is also being established.

The Force is organized into 13 Divisions of varying strength, distributed over the entire country. Recruiting at the present time is once again in full swing, the term of engagement being for five years. The officers are commissioned by the Crown.

Recruits are trained at Regina, Sask., and Rockcliffe, Ont. Police Colleges are also maintained at these centres, where courses of training and instruction are given to keep the Force abreast of the latest developments in criminology. In 1937, a Reserve was established which now numbers over 500: units are located principally at such large centres as Montreal, Toronto, Winnipeg, Edmonton, Calgary and Halifax, where men can be congregated easily, and where instruction can be given in the evenings.

Provincial and Municipal Services.—Under the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Act, any province of Canada may enter into an agreement with the Dominion Government for the services of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police to enforce provincial laws and the Criminal Code in the rural districts, upon payment for such services. There are such agreements in force at the present time with six of the provinces: Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta. These agreements have been in existence for approximately 14 years in the case of five of the provinces mentioned, and for about 18 years in the case of Saskatchewan.

During more recent years, the Force has entered into agreements with certain cities, towns and municipalities within the six provinces mentioned above. They are principally in the Prairie Provinces, but the Eastern Provinces are now requesting similar agreements. There are over 50 such agreements in existence at the present time.

Services to Other Police Forces and Other Duties.—The Royal Canadian Mounted Police maintains two scientific laboratories and, for the identification of criminals, places at the disposal of all police forces its fingerprint, modus operandi, firearms, anti-counterfeiting and other facilities.